Aggravating Archetypes

I’m sure that I am far from the only person irritated with how women (especially young women) are depicted in vast amounts of literature. I’m willing to bet I’m hardly the only one that wants to hit things after especially frustrating passages.

I just finished A Flaw in the Blood by Stephanie Barron (literally. I just shoved the book back in my backpack). It’s a “suspense” novel set during Queen Victoria’s reign, in late winter 1861. The scene that so upset me involved the female protagonist being raped – only to be rescued by her much older male companion/guardian, whom she immediately declares her undying love for.

Dr. Georgiana Armistead, the female in question, is supposed to be the anti-Victorian woman: well-educated, career-ambitious (as opposed to marriage-ambitious), and stubborn. Yet somehow, she is desperate and constant need of a man to solve her problems.

I’ve read (& completely enjoyed) some of Barron’s other novels – she’s known for a series of Jane Austen mysteries. So anyway, I was pretty excited about reading something a little different. Unfortunately, I was largely disappointed. Barron’s other novels have strong, quirky female characters. Of Flaw‘s two prominent female characters, neither one is relatable. Georgiana is a hypocrite and the Queen is oddly overzealous about traditional female roles.

I guess I just don’t understand why so many authors continue to portray women as weak, infantile individuals. I don’t believe that I’ve ever met a woman that could not stand up for herself in some capacity – especially if her life depended on it. I understand that not everyone is He-Man strong and courageous, but I would much rather read about a character, male or female, that has a realistic personality with believable flaws – not archetypes.

Images from A White Stone, and Good Reads.

P.S. Enjoy the alliteration.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in books, rants, women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I completely agree! I take a lot of sociology classes (and I’m in a sexuality class now) so I’m super sensitive to portrayals of the woman in pop culture. I have to say, I am rarely impressed. It’s the same old Madonna/whore dichotomy wherever you look. Or, better yet, women are just absent. The only intriguing female character I’ve come across lately is Maggie (Mary Magdalene) in the novel “Lamb” by Christopher Moore. Granted, I’m only halfway through the book, but she’s really interesting so far…. We’ll see.

  2. ha. i was going to agree as well. im a women studies minor and i find this really entertaining. it gets really old the way people are protrayed in literature. i really am hoping for a new journalist to surprise me with something new. laura?? 🙂

  3. I agree! I don’t think romance should be characterized by a helpless female with a big, strong male to come save her. I don’t get why women are either helpless or bitches in books. Young girls need to read books that don’t make them feel like either of these extremes. My favorite books have strong, independent women as the main characters. Granted, they are vulnerable at times, but it’s not like they are in constant need of being saved.

    PS I did love the alliteration. I’m such an alliteration junky.

  4. AGREE. I have read so many books where the female character is portrayed in such a negative light. I have hope though, don’t worry! I am reading “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” and the female character is strong, opinionated and doesn’t take shit from anyone! A great read overall actually. But I haven’t finished so I’m hoping there isn’t some crazy twist where she turns out to be bad (haha!) but so far she kicks ass. Hope you find a book with a strong female character soon. Happy reading!

    • I’ve read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and the other two books in the trilogy (I really love this Swedish lit trend). I really like the female protagonist, because she is so strong, but she definitely has some issues. It’s too bad there aren’t many books with female characters a little less extreme.

Leave a comment