Cool Things About Being a Girl, pt. 1

I’m a little ashamed to admit it, but I am one of those girls that complains (particularly during my time of the month) about how being a girl is so goddamn difficult. I’m jealous that dudes can pee standing up and that they don’t have to wear make-up everyday. But it’s not like girls don’t get a few perks too.

Red lipsExample: red lipstick.

I don’t know if there’s a more recognized icon of contemporary femininity than bright red lips. They’re saucy and fun, and something boys don’t have.

Guys see red lipstick as sexy. I see red lipstick as confident.

I honestly don’t know very many women that wear red on their lips. They usually stick with the safer and more subtle shades of pink. Red stands out. It attracts attention. And that’s why it requires a certain confidence to wear it. Red lipstick comes with an attitude – something like “I am woman; hear me roar” in a very good way.

I couldn’t live without my two go-to reds: Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain in Always Red, and Covergirl Lipperfection in Hot. So, unleash your inner lady and don’t forget the lip liner.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in lists, Uncategorized, women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can’t remember my log in for WordPress. But I wanted to say something about red lipstick, its just classy. I hate that pink or glittery or other colors get used in its stead. It’s just a classic look and it needs to make a comeback.

Leave a comment